The categories to be considered this year include athlete, coach, and community member. And for the first time an entire team.

PLYMOUTH - Nominations are being accepted for the Plymouth Athletic Hall of Fame's Class of 2018.

The categories to be considered this year include athlete, coach, team and community member to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, which covers Plymouth High School as well as Plymouth-Carver, Plymouth North and Plymouth South.

As many as 10 athletes could make the final cut with one selection each from the other three categories.

"Adding a team into the mix came up for discussion during the last voting process and we decided to include it in for this year," Plymouth South Athletic Director Scott Fry said.

Nominations can be made by filling out a Google document located on the Plymouth North and Plymouth South websites. You can go to the Plymouth Public Schools website ( and choose either school from the drop down menu and look for the link for the Athletic Hall of Fame document.

Nominations will be accepted until Jan. 7. At that point a nomination committee will look at all of the candidates and send a list of finalists to the selection committee for a final vote.

Fry and Plymouth North Athletic Director Spanky Demanche spoke about the importance of celebrating the people that paved the road for Plymouth's current crop of high school athletes.

"The Hall of Fame is one way we can connect with the community and keep in touch with the history of our athletic programs," Fry said. "It's a way we can honor our past and show people the great things we are doing now."

"There's so much tradition associated with high school sports in the town of Plymouth," Demanche said. "Having the Hall of Fame ceremony gives you the opportunity to keep that sense of history alive and continuing to thrive."

The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held at 11 a.m. Sunday, April 29, at the Pavilion in Pinehills Golf Club.

The last Hall of Fame induction was held in spring of 2015. Inducted as part of the Class of 2015 were Clyde "Cabby" Brini ’86, Tim Broulliard ‘03, Derrick Duquette ‘08, Joe Flynn ‘09, Jessica James ’02, Ashleigh McLean ’01, Ryan McLean ’05, Mike Monkevicz ’90, Ryan Puntiri ’96, Vincent Renaut ’08 and Paul Shea ’85, as well as former head football coach Carl Freyermuth.

This will be the 18th class to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. More than 200 athletes, coaches and citizens have received the honor over the years.

If you have questions contact Fry (508-224-5023) or Demanche (508-830-1751).

Email the reporter at and follow him on Twitter, @David Wolcott1.